Lifestyle

How To Get Ready Quicker

HTGRQ Main.jpg

I was talking to a few girls on Twitter recently about getting ready for work in the morning and how long other people take. I took around 45 minutes to an hour if I was washing my hair that morning and considering that I get up at 5:15am for work, I felt like I didn’t ever have enough time.

Most of the girls said that they found prepping an outfit the night before really helped, but the main time saver was showering the night before, especially if you’re washing your hair. Armed with these tips I set out to time myself getting ready in the morning and see what time I was left with, in the hopes of being able to at least have a cup of tea before leaving for work.

HTGRQ Close 1.jpg

I started by choosing and ironing my outfit for Monday on Sunday night. I actually ended up ironing all my clothes for the week so that I could just choose freely from my wardrobe each evening for the next day without having to worry about ironing as well. I also chose any jewellery or accessories that I wanted to wear and laid them out ready for the morning.

I left showering until around 7:30pm on Sunday evening and did all the shower stuff I would normally do on Monday morning, washed my hair, shaved my legs, underarms etc. I was a little dubious about this part of the routine as I felt like I was going to wake up feeling like I hadn’t shaved at all ( I can report this was not the case, fortunately!). I blow dried my hair until it was completely dry and then went about my evening as normal.

HTGRQ Close 2.jpg

5:15am Monday morning and my alarm went off, I did my usual alarm snoozing until 5:20am and then got up. It was so nice to have everything prepped and getting ready just felt so effortless. I cleansed, toned and moisturised my face, brushed my teeth, applied deodorant etc. All the normal morning things. I got dressed and checked the time, 5:30am. This was the time I was usually only just getting out of the shower! I straightened my hair and started on my make up next, I didn’t go for anything too extreme. Just a basic neutral eye, foundation, bronzer, concealer, blusher, eyebrows mascara and highlight. Not in that order of course, but you get the gist. I decided not to check the time until I was completely ready so applied a spritz of perfume and put my jewellery on first.

5:50am! I still had just over twenty minutes until I had to leave the house, plenty of time for a cuppa. Feeling pretty chuffed with myself I went downstairs and enjoyed a nice cup of tea before leisurely popping my shoes on and leaving the house. I think it’s safe to say I’m a getting ready pro now guys, not bragging or anything.

HTGRQ MAIN 2.jpg

No but seriously, those two tips helped me out so much, having an extra twenty minutes every morning to have some breakfast, a cup of tea or coffee, or just catch up on blogs is so nice and I no longer feel super rushed.

I hope this post is helpful to anyone who is looking to get ready quicker in the mornings and if you’re already pretty speedy then please feel free to leave your tips down below!

Blog Signature

 

 

4 thoughts on “How To Get Ready Quicker

  1. I leave my shower for the evening too! I actually like it to de-stress at the end of the day and I like feeling clean before I sleep. It’s amazing how changing one or two things really saved your morning. I need to start prepping my outfits the night before. I’m sure that would save me so much time! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

