Lifestyle

Falling Back in Love with Reading

Harry Potter.jpg

I really enjoy reading. I have done since I was a small child. There’s something so wonderful about books and using your imagination to decide how each character looks for you, how the inside of a house looks, the taste of Butterbeer! As I’ve gotten older though I’ve found less time for reading and hadn’t read at all for months, until recently.

Lately I’ve had to travel for work which has led me back to reading on my journey and I’ve really been enjoying it. I decided to get back into reading again by re-reading a book I love, which I think if you haven’t read for ages can be really helpful. Sometimes reading a book you’ve never read before can make you not want to read. If the story starts off a little slow, you might get a bit bored, stop reading and then go months more without reading again. I’ve found that reading a book I know I love has made me want to read all the time, not just because I love the book but because I love reading again. I’m not a big TV watcher, so other than the few programmes that I watch consistently, most of downtime after work is spent blogging or scrolling through my phone, which can get a little tedious (I mean the latter of course!).

I thought I’d do a post on this because as much as I love reading I know how easy it is to fall out of the habit and any motivation you can get can be so helpful at getting you back into it. So if you’ve been wanting to read for a while but just can’t quite get there, try re-reading one of your favourite books and if Β you don’t fancy doing that and you’re stuck for ideas on what to read here’s some of my favourites.

  • Harry Potter
  • The Suspicions of Mr Whicher: or the Murder at Road Hill House
  • The Lord of The Rings Trilogy
  • The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag
  • The Perfect Hamburger
  • A Christmas Carol

I hope this post was motivating for you if you’ve been lacking in reading motivation lately and if you’re an avid (and consistent) reader let me know your favourite books or what you’re currently reading πŸ™‚

Blog Signature

One thought on “Falling Back in Love with Reading

Leave a Reply

